Sunset coral corset

Corset It is with, by now, well nigh, unbearable smugness that I present another completed UFO! This is a corset I started in November last year at a workshop run by Sara Radford in Exmouth. It was a fine day out, Sara is a most agreeable teacher and her house is a treasure trove of beautiful silk and inspirational corsetry by the sea.

I would fully recommend her workshops. I was inspired to finish the very little I still had to do (just inserting some eyelets really and a little handstitching on the bias trim) by seeing her wedding dresses and special occasion wear on the catwalk show at the Sewing For Pleasure exhibition at the NEC, Birmingham (12-15th March 09). Beautifully done. Sara’s work that is. I’m pleased with what I’ve made as a first attempt, it fits me better than it fits the dummy, and I like the silk which I got from Rob at  Giesse Scampoli  in Birmingham,  but it is very plain and with none of the panache and decoration that Sara adds to hers – guess I better practice some more!

Leave a Reply

