First Day of Spring

The birds are busy in the garden, the sun is slowly burning off the morning mist, the cherry blossom buds are just about as full as they can get without actually being in bloom – a perfect first day of Spring! Here is an outrageous flower to celebrate the promise of it all.

Not my own pattern, thank Julia over at Primrose Corner instead for an excellent tutorial. These can be whipped up very quickly, the hardest part is auditioning the buttons for the centre. I’ve found you do want quite a large one to give the flower some rigidity and cover all of the ends in the middle effectively (unless you can sew a lot more neatly than me anyway).

I must confess to finding these flowers a wee bit addictive – it might be the flush of Spring but I think it also has something to do with combining origami style folding with sewing. It will have to stop soon though – running out of large enough buttons!

This one is made from fabric I’ve had in my stash for too long, but Julia has some lovely fabrics in her shop which would be perfect for this project.

Of course, it is also perfect timing for Mother’s Day (22nd March 09 in the UK). So Mum, this one’s for you.

5 Responses

  1. Thank you for the link. Your flower looks beautiful. I’m sure your Mum will love it.

  2. How cute and springy is that?
    Love it!

  3. I love those flowers! Thank you for posting them, and the link.

  4. I’ve only just found you through the sewing forum but I had to come on and say how wonderful these flowers are!! So pretty, and as a cardmaker/scrapbooker/needlewoman I can think of so many uses for them. Thank you for sharing!

    • Ooh yes Lynne – they’d make a lovely gift on the from of a card. Just got a non sewing friend into making them too – careful they really are addictive.
      Thinks – The card would need to be quite sturdy as these would be on the heavy side for a card….but there are definite possibilities. Thanks for the idea.
      I’ve been thinking about this a fair bit just recently – watch out for the next Sew Hip project…more will be revealed.
      Oh dear – I’m feeling the urge to do more paper crafting again – it gets me in waves every now and again….but I have a sewing list longer than my arm – must – step – away – from – the – paper….arrgh!

Leave a Reply

