Summertime Blues Jacket featured in Sew Hip #8

This is the original sketch I did for my latest published Sew Hip project.

The final version shows some slight variations in terms of fabric choice, and also how the patchwork was done, but it is still quite close.

The fabric is a jelly roll once again – can you detect a theme yet? – this time in glorious sea blues and greens, topstitched with orange.

It is a little extra work to use a jelly roll like this as you have to “create” the fabric first. This does have advantages though – it gives loads of scope for making your own version entierly unique, and also for recycling fabric or using up small bits that aren’t enough to make a garment with on their own. It made me appreciate that while I’m a big fan of recycling for lots of reasons, it isn’t always a low cost option in terms of time. I guess this will be a factor in why sometimes recycled goods can seem expensive, and why as a rule it is more sustainable to choose to reduce and reuse if possible before considering recycling.

Ok so here it is, still in batik but in a different colourway for my son.

The hood here isn’t pieced because I didn’t have enough of the right colour strips in my jelly roll, but it used up a little of my gingham stash and saved a little piecing time too.  

The lining is a stretch terry towelling. The ribbing started its life as a tshirt of mine. It does mean that there are seams in the sides of the ribbing, but  I was having trouble locating the right colour and that tshirt had seen better days. It is a much happier being an ex-tshirt.

PS many sandcastles were made this day on the beach

6 Responses

  1. Great jacket. Love, love, love the blue colors! Very nice. More please!

  2. It’s a lovely jacket! I’m very tempted (even though it says “advanced”!) only my son is already wearing age 7 clothes. If I invest a lot of time in a making quite a complex garment I would like to be sure it will have a long-ish wear life. I will measure him first and see how much ease there would be in the largest size. Your designs are beautiful Tracey, I especially like batik fabrics.

  3. thanks very much Kay and Gwen, I’m glad you like it.

    Kay, the blue jacket in the magazine is made up in age “7yrs”. There is a pic on my flickr site of my son (who will be 9 in 2 months time) trying it on. It would fit him this year but not next so I just increased the size a bit for the green and brown batik one I made for him.

    I tried to err on the generous side when I sized the jacket for exctly the reason you mentioned, but your suggestion if measuring your son and checking for ease is an excellent one.

    It looks great with solid fabric for the arms and hood too which cuts down on the piecing time if you’re pushed – and who isn’t?
    I’d love to hear how you get on if you decide to go ahead.

    PS for some reason I’m unable to comment on you blog at the moment but I just wanted to say how lovely the white on white cushion covers you made are – really classy and a nice way of rescuing those textiles.

    • Thanks for your kind comment on my cushion covers. That’s the first time anything of mine has ever been published in print so I was pretty excited. I have loads of antique linens and am contemplating what else I can do with them. Will definitely let you know if I make the jacket, but I have rather a long to-sew list already so might be a while!

  4. So cute! I had a jacket like this growing up (junior high) I think…I wore it until it was rags.

  5. I also have a project in issue 8 so i think i should leave a comment for the first time here ;o)
    Amélie / My daruma (the obi belt on the cover is mine!)

Leave a Reply

